LIUNA Endorses Tina Smith, Bipartisan Slate of Congressional Candidates

Sep 11 2020

September 11, 2020
Contact: Liz Xiong
[email protected]

Saint Paul, MN —  Today, LIUNA Minnesota and North Dakota announced its endorsement of Tina Smith for U.S. Senate and a bipartisan slate of congressional candidates for the 2020 General Election. In addition to endorsing Smith, the infrastructure union will lend support to Dan Feehan for Congress (D - First District), U.S. Representative Angie Craig (D - Second District), U.S. Representative Dean Phillips (D - Third District), U.S. Representative Tom Emmer (R - Sixth District), U.S. Representative Collin Peterson (D - Seventh District) and U.S. Representative Pete Stauber (R - Eighth District).

“Our members live and work across the state, and they all need leaders in D.C. who will protect their livelihoods and jumpstart the economy,” said Joel Smith, President and Business Manager. “LIUNA members, retirees and families are proud to support leaders who share working people’s values and priorities.”

Especially now, LIUNA members and all working people deserve leaders in Congress who will focus on:

  • Creating family-sustaining jobs with living wages, including protecting the Davis-Bacon Act for construction workers

  • Protecting working peoples’ freedom to negotiate a fair return on work

  • Providing affordable health care and retirement security

  • Advancing all workers’ freedom to prosper and care for their families

On Labor Day, LIUNA “unanimously, enthusiastically, and proudly” endorsed Vice President Joe Biden and Senator Kamala Harris for President and Vice President of the United States of America.

Chartered in 1968 by the Laborers’ International Union of North America (LIUNA), LIUNA Minnesota and North Dakota is based in Saint Paul and serves the members, families and retirees of five Local Unions: Local 563 (Minneapolis-Saint Paul Metro, Mankato and Saint Cloud Areas and North Dakota); Local 405 (Rochester and Southeast Minnesota); Local 1091 (Duluth-Superior, Northeast Minnesota and Northwest Wisconsin); Local 1097 (Iron Range and Northern Minnesota); and Local 363 (City and County Employees Union of Minneapolis-Saint Paul and Greater Minnesota).